Skip to main content

Performer's Choice: Program No. 4

Published October 30, 1963

The fourth in KPFA’s Performer's Choice concert series was held on October 30, 1963 at KPFA’s San Francisco Studio. Included was the premier performance of Loren Rush’s “Composition for Two Pianos, Bells, Gongs, and Cymbals,” and Béla Bartók’s “Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion.” A third work by W. F. Bach was also included in this concert but that portion of the concert has been lost. The performer’s for the evening included pianists Dwight Peltzer and Jean Goodwin, and percussionists Roland Kohloff and Peggy Cunningham Lucchesi. From 1963 to 1964KPFA presented five such concerts featuring contemporary classical compositions, many by San Francisco based composers, including Lou Harrison, Pauline Oliveros, and Gordon Mumma, as well as works by more internationally known composers such as Karlheinz Stockhausen. The Performer’s Choice concert series represented one of KPFA’s first experiments with live broadcasts, and served as the springboard for the careers of a number of the young Californian composers featured here.

Date 1963-10-30
Run time 51 min


For more detailed program information and to browse other material in the Other Minds Archive visit:


There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write a review.
Stream Only
Stream playlist
( VBR )
on 1/12/2012